Saturday, March 31, 2012

Parvathi Pathmam Award to Sreekumaran Thampi

Sreekumaran Thampi
Sreekumaran Thampi

Guruvayur Perakam Ayinappully Sree Rajarajeswari Temple's Parvathi Pathmam Award ( Rs. 20000), which give relates to the temple ulsavam (festival), goes to famous lyricist, music director and director Sri. Sreekumaran Thampi. The award will present to him on April 2nd, 7 PM at temple premises.

Swaralaya-Kairali Yesudas Award 2012

MG Sreekumar
M. G. Sreekumar
This year's Swaralaya-Kairali Yesudas award has been announced. The award is goes to famous singer and composer M G Sreekumar. Music director Shyam won the award for overall contributions. The awards ( Rs. 100000 each) will distributed by Dr. K J Yesudas on April 12 at Kanakakunnu Nishagandhi Auditorium in the function "Sangeetha Saayaahnam".

Thursday, March 29, 2012

Kerala Press Academy's Prathibha Puraskaram 2012

The Kerala Press Academy is honouring five senior mediapersons with ‘Prathibha Puraskaram' for their exemplary service to journalism.
BRP Bhaskar
BRP Bhaskar

The winners of the award ( Rs. 25000 each) are:
  • Journalist and social worker B R P Bhaskar 
  • K G Parameshwaran Nair, who is completing 50 years in political articles
  • Journal historian G Priyadarshan (Malayala Manorama) 
  • T V Achutha Warrier, ex-editor of Thrissur Express newspaper
  • M P Poulose, press photographer.

The awards will be presented by Chief Minister Oommen Chandy at a function to be held at Thiruvananthapuram Press Club on April 25, a press release said. The Prathibha Puraskaram is given once during the tenure of the respective administrative council of the academy. 

Wednesday, March 28, 2012

Symphony Awards 2012 announced

P. Susheela
P. Susheela
S. Janaki
Dr. S. Janaki
P. Jayachandran
P. Jayachandran

Veteran singers P Susheela, Dr. S Janaki and P Jayachandran bagged this year's Symphony awards instituted by Symphony television for outstanding contributions to Malayalam film songs. Prof. Dr. ONV Kurup, advising committee chairman of Symphony television, announced the awards. Each of the winners will get Rs. 50,000 cash prize, plaque and a certificate. Singers Muhammad Aslam and Gayathri were selected for the Symphony TV - Crystal Youth Achievement awards. They will get Rs. 20,000, a plaque and certificate. The awards would be presented by union minister KC Venugopal on April 5 (6.30 PM) at Thripunithura JT Performing Arts centre.

Muhammad Aslam
Muhammad Aslam

P. Valsala bags C. V. Kunjiraman Memorial Literature Award

Writer P Valsala bags CV Kunhiraman Smaraka Sahithya Award for her oustanding contributions towards Malayalam language and literature. The award contains Rs. 10001 and citation.

P Valsala is a Malayalam novelist, short story writer, social activist, and a retired Head Mistress from Kerala. She a recipient of Kerala Sahitya Academy Award for her novel Nizhalurangunna Vazhikal (The Paths where Shadows Sleep). Valsala is currently serving as the President of Kerala Sahithya Academy.

Tuesday, March 27, 2012

State Library Council Awards 2012 announced

M. K. Sanu
Prof. M. K. Sanu
The Kerala State Library Council has announced its awards in recognition of the services rendered by individuals and libraries towards promotion of the library movement in Kerala. Prof. MK Sanu bags Special Award for Overall Contributions ( Rs. 50000, statuette and citation).

Kannur Jawahar Library bags EMS Award for the best library which has crossed 50 years in the State ( Rs. 30000, statuette and citation).
PN Panicker Award for best library worker of the State was won by ex-MLA and CPM state committee member CT Krishnan ( Rs. 15000, statuette and citation).

Other Awards:
  • DC Award for the best rural library (books worth Rs. 44444 and citation) - Madikkai Public Library, Kanjangad, Kasaragod.
  • Samadhanam Parameswaran Award for the library which conducts the best cultural activities ( Rs. 7777 and citation) - Sanmargadhayini Memorial Library, Chanappara, Kadaykkal, Kollam.
  • NE Balaram Award for the best library in the backward areas (books worth Rs. 15000 and citation) - Kalappuram Library, Kannur.
  • P Ravindran Award for the library with the best Balavedi (books worth Rs. 15000 and citation) - Navodaya Library and Reading Room, Idayilakkad, Kasaragod.

Sunday, March 25, 2012

Sambasivan Award for M. N. Karassery

Writer MN Karassery bags Sambasivan Award ( Rs. 25,000) instituted by Kerala Art Lovers Association (Kala - Kuwait). Mohiyuddin Nadukkandiyil Karassery is a Malayalam writer and activist. His columns on contemporary political and social issues appear in the newspaper Mathrubhumi. He has won many national and state film awards for his outstanding films and books.

Saturday, March 24, 2012

Kerala Film Producers Association - Surya TV Film Awards 2011

Best Film : PRANAYAM 

Best Director : Ranjith (Indian Rupee)

Best Actor : Dr. Mohanlal (Pranayam)

Best Actress : Kavya Madhavan (Bhakthajanangalude Shraddhaykku)

Second Best Actor : Anoop Menon (Beautiful)

Second Best Actress : Ramya Nambeeshan (Chappa Kurishu)

Most Popular Film : URUMI 

Most Popular Director : Aashiq Abu (Salt N' Pepper)

Most Popular Actor : Prithviraj (Urumi, Indian Rupee)

Most Popular Actress : Swetha Menon (Salt N' Pepper) 

Best Music Director : M. Jayachandran (Pranayam)

Best Child Artist : Master Govardhan

Best Cinematographer : Jomon T. John (Beautiful)

Outstanding Performance : Jayapradha (Pranayam)

The awards were announced by the jury chairman KR Mohanan and members of producers association Sasi Ayyanchira, Milan Jaleel and Rejaputhra Renjith. The Awards will be given to the respectance in a colourful function organised at Kochi on 15th of April.

Friday, March 23, 2012

Actor Jos Prakash honoured with JC Daniel Award

Actor Jos Prakash has been selected for the JC Daniel Award, Kerala Government's highest film honour instituted in memory of the director of first Malayalam movie Vigathakumaran, JC Daniel.

Jos Prakash, who excelled in character and villain roles from 1950s to 1990s, was chosen for the honour in view of his outstanding contribution to Malayalam cinema.

The award carries Rs. 1,00,000, citation and memento.

Jos Prakash first entered the film as a singer after serving briefly in the army in 1950s.

Since then he has done memorable roles, mostly as villain in over 300 films during his long career.

CNN-IBN 'Real Heroes' winners

CNN-IBN Real Heroes award ( Rs. 5,00,000) recognises and acknowledges ordinary Indians who are making a difference to people's lives.

Sheeba Ameer
Sheeba Ameer
Sheeba Ameer
Having gone through the pain of seeing her thirteen-year-old daughter battle cancer, Sheeba Ameer, a house wife, decided to step out of her home to help other parents of terminally ill children. Today her organisation SOLACE acts as a support system for many parents in Kerala who cannot afford expensive treatment for their children. For these parents, Sheeba is a friend, a saviour and their Real Hero.

Rasiya Bhanu
Rasiya Bhanu
Rasiya Bhanu
Tragedy struck Rasiya early in life, when she was widowed at just 20. But she didn’t let her sorrow consume her life and instead found her calling in nursing and providing a home to old and abandoned women in Palakad, Kerala. Today Shantiniketan has 12 mothers.

Allen J Mathew Foundation Awards

K.C. Joseph
KC Joseph
Allen J Mathew Foundation Life Time Achievement Award ( Rs. 10001) goes to KC Joseph, Minister for Rural Development, Planning & Culture of the Government of Kerala.

CF Thomas MLA and VR Bhaskaran will honoured for their works in public service.

Director Siddique bags the Cultural Award for his contributions in Malayalam cinema.
Quatar Sasco Group MD James Chacko bags the Buisiness Excellence Award.

Kerala Chief Minister Sri. Oommen Chandy will distribute the awards on 25th March at Municiapal Town Hall, Changanassery.

© All Rights Reserved by SR TecH DeZ 2012